The Soap Box Derby is not just an All-American thing anymore.

Mark Gerberich, the president of the Soap Box Derby, joined the Ray Horner Morning Show to discuss the future expansion of the derby. Gerberich says he is looking for the derby to continue growing their STEM programs, not just in America, but internationally, as well. As far as Australia goes, Sphere Leadership will take on the reigns of building the derby Down Under, which won’t take place until either 2019 or 2020.

The big picture for the derby, according to Gerberich, is to help expand to countries in Asia and Europe.

Published in WAKR RAY HORNER
Derby Downs is abuzz, and this week is all about the 2017 FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby.

Mark Gerberich was recently named president of the Soap Box Derby, and he spoke with the Ray Horner Morning Show about taking over that position, as well as what is on the docket for derby week.

Jeff Iula, a derby historian who wrote a book about his experiences, joined Ray’s show to discuss the fanfare surrounding the derby, both past and present.

Published in WAKR RAY HORNER
Saturday, 16 July 2016 20:41

2016 Soap Box Derby Crowns Champs

While Cleveland welcomes the world to the North Coast for the 2016 Republican National Committee, Akron bid goodbye to the world's top soap box racers as the 79th FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby drew to a close.

Among local racers, Emily Harmon of Stow placed fourth in the Rally Masters division, while fifth place was taken by North Canton's Stephanie Gest. 

There was some controversy in the Local Masters Race, as the first-place finisher's car was disqualified after a review found the front mounting plate had been drilled, a violation of the rules. That moved the next round of finishers up one slot.

- - - 

(All-American Soap Box Derby) World champions were crowned Saturday at the 79th running of the FirstEnergy All­-American Soap Box Derby at Derby Downs Track. Champions were crowned in the Local, Rally, Ultimate Speed, National Super Kids Divisions and Mayor's Cup Race. The champions are as follows:

Local Stock
1 ­ Joseph Kratochvil, Piedmont Area, VA
2 ­ Cole Heavner, Morganton, NC
3 ­ Robbie Welp, Indianapolis, IN
4 ­ Ruth Taddeo, Ocala, FL
5 ­ Ryan Jameson, Greater Washington, DC
6 ­ Alejandro Vidal, Pottstown, PA
7 ­ Taylor Peterson, Arlington, MA
8 ­ Xavier Thomas, Sheyenne Valley, ND
9 ­ Alex Marchacos New Hampshire, NH
Local Super Stock
1 ­ Mallory Bruen, Northern Maine, ME
2 ­ Melody Castner, Mahoning Valley, OH
3 ­ Ashton Stevenson, Chattanooga Area, TN
4 ­ George Amadeo II, New Brunswick, NJ
5 ­ Veronica Stagnaro, Silicon Valley, CA
6 ­ Chassidy Oatman, Lima, OH
7 ­ Madison Trumpold, Bristol, CT
8 ­ Celina Murty, Rochester West, NY
9 ­ Steven Stolz, Greater Houston, TX
Local Masters
1 ­ Kathryn Lindsey, Winter Park, FL
2 ­ Sarah Watson, Erie, PA
3 ­ Jayleen Ingram, Colorado Springs, CO
4 ­ Victoria Dun, Columbus, OH
5 ­ Sara Rokosz, Northwest Indiana, IN
6 ­ Rachel Packard, Greater Chicago, IL
7 ­ Brooke Strand, Danbury, CT
8 ­ Savannah Fitzgerald, Mahoning Valley, OH
Rally Stock
1 ­ Karlye Murphy, Hilton NY
2 ­ Malena Shipley, Brookhaven GA
3 ­ Julia Irving, Lexington MA
4 ­ Brooklyn Van Gruensven, Suamico WI
5 ­ Jason Packard, Woodstock IL
6 ­ Kelsey Van Waart, Gretna NE
7 ­ Caden Pollard, Preston MD
8 ­ Hanna Harper, Poca WV
9 ­ Nathen Christian, Bowling Green KY
Rally Super Stock
1 ­ Peyton Van Gruensven, Menasha WI
2 ­ Henry Paul, Carmel IN
3 ­ Charles Sinche, West Hartford CT
4 ­ Benjamin Ruffell, Webster NY
5 ­ Remington Schimonitz, Ogallala NE
6 ­ Cayce Bledsoe, Hopkinsville KY
7 ­ Ian Jameson, Hollywood MD
8 ­ Chance Peck, St. Albans WV
9 ­ Nevaeh Cadman, Green Bay WI
Rally Masters
1 ­ Peyton Strand, New Milford CT
2 ­ Cooper Campbell, Westfield IN
3 ­ Aaron Leonard, Utica KY
4 ­ Emily Harmon Stow OH
5 ­ Stephanie Getz, North Canton OH
6 ­ Brooke Turner, West Seneca NY
7 ­ Jacob Green, Lancaster OH
8 ­ Sydney Fascetta, Dover NH
9 ­ Brandi Byers, Tallahassee, Fla. Ultimate Speed
1 ­ Kristi Murphy, Concord Township OH
2 ­ Allison Bates, University Heights OH
National Super Kids Classic
1 ­ Shawna Hutcheson, Lyons, GA
2 ­ Collin Caldwell, LeSage, WV
Mayor's Cup Race, presented by Accenture
1 ­ Kelly Speeg, Wife of Hall of Fame Inductee Bill Speeg
2 ­ Jeff Zimmer, Fallsway Equipment Company
3 ­ Brian Frerichs, Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems
The car that won the Local Masters Division of the FirstEnergy All­American Soap Box Derby on Saturday was disqualified. After the post­race inspection by the Derby’s Racing Commission it was determined that the front axle mounting plate was drilled, which violated 3.00(d) of the Masters Car Build Plans. The second through ninth place finishers have now been elevated by one spot. Kathryn Lindsey of Winter Park, Fla. is the Local Masters Champion. 
Published in Local